Big Thanks To The SELinux Team

I started using Fedora back in the Fedora 8 days.  I’ve always tried to run SELinux in enforcing mode and back in the Fedora 8-9 days that seemed to mean I’d have some SELinux issue every few days.  It wasn’t a big deal, but it was annoying and very tempting to turn it off completely.

Starting with Fedora 10, at least for me, the SELinux hiccups seemed to only happen every few weeks and I was very impressed with the improvement.

I’ve now been running Fedora 11 for three weeks and haven’t had a single SELinux issue at all.  Maybe I am unique, but from what I can tell SELinux with Fedora 11 no longer has any annoying issues while running in enforcing mode.

Thanks a lot SELinux team!  I now feel a great degree of security without a hint of discomfort.

Explore posts in the same categories: Linux

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Big Thanks To The SELinux Team”

  1. James Says:

    Glad to hear you’re happy with it — if you do run into any issues, we will get them fixed quickly (via bugzilla or fedora-selinux).


  2. […] Big Thanks To The SELinux Team « California Quantum […]


  3. […] Big Thanks To The SELinux Team I started using Fedora back in the Fedora 8 days. I’ve always tried to run SELinux in enforcing mode and back in the Fedora 8-9 days that seemed to mean I’d have some SELinux issue every few days. It wasn’t a big deal, but it was annoying and very tempting to turn it off completely. […]

  4. Maternitus Says:

    I run Fedora 11 also for about three weeks and had no troubles with SELinux at all. And it improved on alot of things, I might add… It is the main OS in this house, except for one machine. That one runs Mandriva, because the owner just likes it better…

    Nice thing, that open source. Choice.

  5. AThom Says:

    Well, I let Fedora 10 update itself to 11, and wound up with ALL SORTS of issues. A whole BOATLOAD of “SELinux is preventing” this, that, and every other bleedin’ thing. How the heck is anyone supposed to get ANYTHING done with this thing lurking in the background and blocking every litlle thing? I couldn’t even get a graphical login until I switched it over to ‘permissive’ mode! I’m beginning to think it’s behind Firefox’ constant freezes, too.

    Seriously, if SELinux is such a wonderful service, if it really is a bad idea to disable or remove it completely, then how do I get it to behave? I don’t want to have to write pages on pages of exceptions; spend hours and hours turning things on or off; or read pages and pages of documentation, all just to use my own computer! Can ANYONE help me out with that, PLEASE???

  6. Joseph Smidt Says:

    @AThom
    I think your problem is you did and upgrade instead of a clean install. Unfortunately, that is often very problematic. You might have lots of issues until you do a clean install.


Leave a Reply

